Out of State Boat Fee Moves to Senate

Concord — April 14, 2007 — Out-of-state boaters would have to buy a $20 decal to use New Hampshire waters under a bill approved yesterday by the House.The boaters would receive educational safety materials with the decal, which would have to be affixed to any boat not registered in New Hampshire. The penalty for not buying the decal would be a violation.

The state estimates it would get between $600,000 and $750,000 from the 30,000 or so out-of-state boaters using the lakes and rivers. The money would be used for lake restoration and preservation, dam maintenance, public boat access, and navigation safety.

The House voted 236-69 to send the bill to the Senate.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *